Candidates to face off in Franklin County cities

  • Four of Franklin County's five cities will have contested elections after qualifying ended Wednesday.
    Four of Franklin County's five cities will have contested elections after qualifying ended Wednesday.

As of Wednesday at noon, four of Franklin County's five cities are guaranteed to have contested elections Nov. 5.

Qualifying for positions on city councils in Franklin County got under way Monday. Qualifying for races was held through Wednesday at around 4-4:30 p.m.

A complete list of candidates signing up to run will be on and in next week’s paper.

There will be contested races in Royston, Canon, Lavonia and Carnesville.

• Royston.

Royston will definitely have a race for its city council.

Four candidates signed up to run for the three seats to be contested this year.

Incumbents Wayne Braswell, Lee Strickland and Keith Turman qualified Monday, as did newcomer Wesley Fricks.

• Canon.

Canon will have a race for two seats on the council.

Incumbents Wayne Sanders and Bobby Locke have qualified in the race, along with newcomer Joe Cairnes.

• Lavonia.

As expected, a pair of council members will square off for the mayor's seat in Lavonia.

Harold Harbin qualified Tuesday to take on Courtney Umbehant for the seat.

In addition, current mayor Ralph Owens qualified to run for the Post 4 council seat. He will be running against Andrew Murphy, who signed up to run on Monday.

Michael Schulman signed up to run in Post 1.

Incumbent Eddie Floyd will be opposed by Mary Lou Jackson for the Post 3 seat.

The seats of Mayor Ralph Owens and council members Eddie Floyd and Harold Harbin are up for election this year. A special election will also be held to fill the seat of Courtney Umbehant.

• Carnesville.

The terms of Mayor Harris Little and council members Sid Ginn and Patsy Watkins are up for reelection in Carnesville.

All three incumbents have qualified to run for reelection. 

Former council member Mike Barrett has also signed up to run for one of the council seats.

• Franklin Springs.

Qualifying in Franklin Springs got off to a slow start.

Incumbents Bill Bell and Tommy Pritchett were the  only ones to have qualified as of Wednesday at noon.