Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Runoff Election Day!

Three GOP races, one Democratic matchup on ballot

CARNESVILLE – Franklin County voters may return to the polls Tuesday to help the state’s Republican and Democratic parties decide candidates for November’s general election.

Both parties will hold runoff elections Tuesday.

Regular polling places will be open Tuesday from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

The runoff features three Republican races and one Democratic contest.

Voters who cast ballots  in the in May 22 primary will have to vote with the same party in the runoff election.

Voters who voted non-partisan or who didn’t vote at all will have to choose a party preference for the runoff.

On the Republican ballot, voters will choose between Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle and Secretary of State Brian Kemp as the party nominee for governor in the November general election.

The winner will face Democrat Stacey Abrams.

In the race for the Republican nominee for lieutenant governor, voters will choose between Geoff Duncan and David Shafer in the runoff.

Sarah Riggs Amico won the Democratic primary and will face the Republican winner in the general election.

For secretary of state, Republicans will pick between David Belle Isle and Brad Raffensperger.

The winner will face Democrat John Barrow on November’s general election ballot.

On the Democratic ballot, Sid Chapman and Otha E. Thornton Jr. will faceoff for the nomination as State School Superintendent.

Anyone with questions about which precinct they should vote in may call the elections office at 706-384-4390.

“No absentee applications or ballots can be mailed after Friday and if they have received an absentee ballot, it needs to be returned to our office by 7 p.m. on Tuesday, July 24,” Elections Superintendent GinaChappelear said.

Sample ballots are available in the elections office, on the Georgia Secretary of State’s My Voter page website at and on the Franklin County Elections and Registration webpage at under the Sample Ballots section.

Franklin County Citizen Leader

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 580, 12150 Augusta Road
Lavonia, GA  30553

Phone: 706-356-8557
Fax: 706-356-2008