Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

A screen shot of the state's election website at shows the candidates who have qualified to run for office in Franklin County through Thursday. Qualifying will end Thursday at noon.

With one day left, qualifying draws plenty of newcomers

CARNESVILLE – A bevy of newcomers has signed up to run for local offices during the first four days of qualifying, and two school board seats will be contested in the May 22 primary.

Qualifying for two county commission seats and three seats on the board of education opened Monday.

Qualifying will continue until noon on Friday at the Franklin County Elections and Registration Office.

Two school board seats are already contested.

For the Post 3 seat, newcomers Jeremy S. Madden and Randall Gailey have signed up for the Republican primary race. Incumbent Bo Lowery has not filed for reelection.

Earlier this week, newcomer Davie “David” Mayfield Sr. qualified to run in the Republican primary against current School Board Chairman Robin Cato, who also qualified.

In the other school board race, for Post 4, incumbent Alan Mitchell has qualified for reelection as a Republican.

There are no contested races as of now for county commissioner, though one newcomer has thrown his hat into the ring.

Ryan Swails has qualified to run as a Republican for the District 3 seat currently held by Jeff Jacques.

Jacques has yet to sign up for reelection.

Commissioner Eddie Wester filed for reelection in Franklin County’s District 4.

Candidates may qualify as either Republicans or Democrats. All Franklin candidates thus far have qualified as Republicans.

Qualifying fees are $216 for county commissioner races and $36 for school board seats.

The general primary will be held May 22, with the general election Nov. 6.

Several state races, including those for governor and lieutenant governor and all representative and senate seats, are also up.

All U.S. House seats are also up this year.

A complete list of qualified candidates will be posted at when qualifying closes Friday and will be included in next week’s issue of the Franklin County Citizen Leader.

Franklin County Citizen Leader

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 580, 12150 Augusta Road
Lavonia, GA  30553

Phone: 706-356-8557
Fax: 706-356-2008